Membership with The Academy

Membership with the American Academy of Experts in Traumatic Stress® demonstrates a commitment to the field. It is the first step in a sequential process aimed at identifying expertise among professionals across disciplines.

There are two levels of membership in the Academy:

° Member
° Associate Member


Members must hold a Doctorate in their field of expertise or hold a Masters Degree and have a minimum of three (3) years experience working with survivors of traumatic events. The Executive Officers reserve the right to grant membership to an individual who does not meet the aforementioned criteria, but who has made important contributions to the field or to the Academy.


  Associate Member

This non-doctoral level of membership is reserved for individuals who have at least two (2) years experience working with survivors of traumatic events. Associate Members are afforded all benefits of membership with the exception of qualifying for the Diplomate credential. However, qualified Associate Members may apply for other Academy certifications.